I’m One Of The Sharpest Tools In The Shed, Pun Intended

welcome fish
Photo credit: woodleywonderworks via Flickr

I can say I’m a great homemaker, and I have the reputation to back it up. I’m no Martha Stewart, but those who attend my occasional barbecue weekends will confirm I can hold my own when it comes to household DIY. I don’t know about you, but I’m pressed to think of names when it comes to listing women I know who’s idea of a great afternoon involves a tool box and house repairs.

But that’s just me. I’m Stacey by the way. My name sounds like I belonged to a college pep squad, but I’m leaving the mystery of that for you to figure out. Right now, one of my many proud achievements is my skills around a tool shed, which I know is of great interest-on for many men (at least those I know). I also cook a mean casserole, so I’m as good a catch as they come.

So here’s the rub. I created this blog — Your Home Style Guide — as an outlet for my many DIY pursuits. It’s proven I’ve ruffled some feathers in the hen house, whenever I talk shop in a circle of homemakers. I’ve kept my silence in too many occasions, so here’s safe respite for women (and men) who want to up their DIY chops, without the need to prove or downplay their worth. You are accepted and loved in here.

There are plenty of tips to go around, and I’m learning the ropes as I go along. I remember the time when I didn’t know the difference between white and eggshell white (there is?!), but I’m wiser now, enough to know you absolutely shouldn’t wing it when it comes to Do-It-Yourself home improvement. It’s like “That 70’s Show” episode (“Battle of the Sexists”) where Red Forman tried to fix a wobbly table by sawing off the longer legs, on the spot.

Of course, there’s always a quick fix to everything, though I doubt those I’ve tried had lasting results. It’s like slipping a sugar packet underneath a short leg table to fix the wobble: it fixes the problem, but it’s bad taste in interior décor.

So there it is: I hope my entries here improve your home improvement exploits. More important, I hope you’ll pitch in your tips to improve on what’s available. This isn’t really your last authority in home improvement; that’s what Sears and Target reps are for. This blog is for those who can’t find their way in the home improvement section of the warehouse but are too embarrassed (or proud) to admit it.

I hope you enjoy all of my two cents’ worth of tips here, and please fill in the gaps if I miss out on anything. It’s likely I’ll attract the ire of manly men with this blog, but you guys out there should be glad the flag of gender equality flies high in my tool shed.

And as a last note…

visitors welcome
Photo credit: Sayf via Flickr

Just kidding! Just had a good laugh coz of this sign 😉

Leave a Reply

